Hummus Elite
Hummus Elite    /    Sunday - Thursday: 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM    /    Friday: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM    /    Saturday: Closed    /    201.569.5600
4 stars - based on 77 reviews
Glatt Kosher Middle Eastern / Mediterranean Cuisine
About Kosher Certification

Kosher is a term that refers to the suitability of a food product for consumption by observant Jews. The concept of kosher comes from the Torrah, which states that anyone who consumes non-kosher food is infected by an unclean spirit.

The standards of quality that are involved in determining whether or not a food is kosher are very stringent and are based on a mix of religious texts and oral tradition. Appointed rabbis make the determination of whether or not a food is kosher by visiting production facilities and becoming aware of all of the ingredients that are used in a particular food product. However, the determination goes deeper than that. In order for a food to be determined kosher a rabbi must also confirm that no non-kosher foods were processed in the same facilities or using the same equipment as the food being deemed kosher.

The standards for production of kosher food are very high. For example, in order to be considered kosher, meat has to be fed, slaughtered, and processed under a very strict set of health, humane and sanitary regulations. For this reason, many people rightfully consider kosher meat to be higher in quality than non-kosher meat. Although there may be good practices that exist in the production of non-kosher meats, there also may not. If a meat is labeled kosher, a rabbi has verified that the standards that that particular meat was produced under were unrelenting. Therefore, many individuals - Jews and non-Jews - trust the kosher label over all others.

Kosher can also contribute to a non-Jew’s choice of whether or not to buy a food due to dietary restrictions. To understand how this can be of benefit, it’s important to understand that observant Jews are not supposed to eat a meal that contains both meat and dairy. They may eat meat or they may eat dairy, but they may not eat both at the same time. For this reason, kosher food must be labeled either meat or dairy. A third category exists, which is called “pareve”. Pareve refers to food that are not meat nor dairy. Therefore if an individual is, for example, lactose intolerant, he or she could eat a kosher meat or a pareve product without worrying that there may be a dairy derivative in the product. The same goes for those with other allergies.

It is of benefit for a food producer to become kosher certified regardless of whether their food is specifically made for Jewish consumption. There is a growing public perception, particularly with the public’s increasing awareness of green and humane practices by farmers and meat providers, that kosher is a standard in quality that will never be compromised. For this reason many individuals regardless of religious affiliation shop for kosher products. There are little to no negative effects that a kosher label could have on a food. Instead, the kosher label produces many positive effects such as helping a product reach a wider audience, clarifying for a consumer what is in the product, and highlighting the standards that a product was produced under.
Glatt Kosher
Kosher Food Delivery
Order Hummus Online
facebook icon yelp icon zaggat icon yellowpages icon google icon urbanspoon icon
(201) 569-5600
hummus elite menu
Hummus Elite 2013 © All Rights Reserved   |   39 East Palisade Avenue   |   Englewood, NJ 07631   |   201.569.5600 Website Design and Development by Graphic Advance